serving these central durham neighborhoods:

 
  • Cleveland Holloway
  • Colonial Village
  • Downtown
  • Duke Park
  • Forest Hills
  • Lakewood
  • Morehead Hills
  • Northgate Park
  • Old North Durham
  • Old West Durham
  • Trinity Heights
  • Trinity Park
  • Walltown
  • Watts-Hospital-Hillendale
 

…and anything in between

not sure about your neighborhood? call!!

dogwalk has been caring for the beloved dogs and cats (and the occasional guinea pig, bunny and chicken!) of central Durham since 2003. We take pride in bringing together the best team of dogwalkers/pet sitters around to meet the needs of our varied clients. Our entire team is bonded and insured and we keep background checks (passing ones, of course) on file for each sitter. We take the individual needs of each client into consideration to offer the best service. We look forward to hearing from you!


MEET THE CREW

Beth Bakke

I adore my job, pet sitting seems perfect for a gal such as me - what with my delightfully short attention span and a love for creatures with furry faces and soft eyes.

I was born in Michigan but found my way home to NC after graduating from Antioch college in Ohio way back in 1993. I started in Wilmington, then Durham, then Chapel Hill and back to Durham in 2003.

I took a job at the Whole Foods in 1998, and became produce team leader in a jiffy ( I enjoyed the heavy lifting and the fruit wrangling).

In late 2002 I started to feel there was something else out there - then it hit me I was to be a walker of dogs and a friend to the felines, becoming co-founder of dogwalk in October of 2003. And here I am today - still in love with the dogs and cats of Durham - still in love with walking the streets with my charges - making fantastic connections as I go.

At home I live with three dogs and a cat - Jackson, Beebles, Buddy, Atticat and my ladyfriend, Amy

I totally dig bodyboarding, riding my bike in the woods and growing potatoes.

Zach Schreiber

Everyone that has known Zach over the years has known him as a chef, but after being in the kitchen for ten years it was time for a change. As a lifelong owner/lover of dogs the the idea of working for dogwalk was perfect! When Zach is not out making sure Durham&rsquot;s dogs and cats are loved and cared for he is most likely at home working on his garden with his wife Stacey or building a home for their future chickens. Their dog, Luna is a marathon runner in training.

Amy Eller

Amy landed in the dogwalk family by accident as the owner's trusty sidekick and lady friend. It's taken a number of years, and a major career change, for her to embrace her skills as a dogwalker and cat-fancier. She's spent so much time around the dogwalk clients over the past 5 years that she feels like she knows them all, even those she's never actually met! She's having a blast walking the streets of Durham!

Amy splits her time between dogwalking and her freelance marketing business, offering marketing services to small businesses with a focus on sustainable and organic food systems, nature/environmentalism, art, and of course, dogwalk. In her free time, Amy spends as many hours as possible outdoors, enjoying the gardens that she and Beth steward, and observing all the wonders of the natural world.

Alexis Luckey

After adventuring the globe for much of the last decade, Alexis landed in the fair city of Durham, where she spends her days promoting local food and farms over at Eastern Carolina Organics. She enjoys writing, running, yoga, growing things, eating things, and any opportunity to snuggle and romp with four-legged friends. While not currently a dog mom, she is happy for the chance to be a pet auntie to the canines and kitties around town.

Heather McEntire
Melanie Lavrisa

A gingersnap hailing from Savannah, Georgia, Melanie recently moved to Durham to pursue a new life in beautiful North Carolina. Always a lover of the great outdoors, she recently graduated from the University of Georgia with a degree in Sustainable Horticulture. When not doing the dogwalk thing, Melanie enjoys teaching yoga, gardening, sustainable and compassionate living, chilling with her cats and making art.

Cat Gallovitch

Cat recently moved to Durham from Athens, Georgia. After working in the service industry for five years and completing her yoga certification, she was ready to pursue her real passion- compassionate living. This includes her love for creatures of all kinds!

DOGWALKER JOB OPENINGS 



well established pet sitting/dog walking business in central Durham seeking independent contractors to work up to 20 hours a week (hours/schedules/jobs vary from week to week)

the perfect candidate will have flexibility to work mornings, evenings, weekends, and holidays

independent contractors are compensated based on the specifics of each job they do, on average making $15/hour.

job requirements:

  • at least 18 years of age or older
  • able to make at minimum a one year commitment to the job
  • solid dog handling skills and clear understanding of dog and cat behavior
  • available and willing to work weekends, mornings, evenings and holidays
  • willing to work outside in all types of weather
  • ability to administer basic medications to both cats and dogs
  • ability to follow detailed instructions that will vary from client to client
  • comfortable caring for cats and dogs of all breeds, sizes and personalities
  • able to handle dogs up to 100+ pounds and possibly up to three dogs at a time
  • in good physical condition with the ability to walk up to and over 5 miles per day
  • have solid integrity: honest, dependable, mature and trustworthy
  • willing to submit to a background check
  • have a clean and respectable appearance to meet with clients and the public
  • have a dependable car, good driving record and valid driver's license
  • have a cell phone with picture/text messaging and voicemail
  • have daily internet access and ability to use required online software (on a computer or smartphone)
  • ability to keep up with an often-changing daily schedule
  • ability to stay on task and keep appointment times
  • be organized and work independently as well as communicate with other ic's, clients and owner
  • applicants must live in durham and have a good working knowledge of how to get around

interested applicants send resume and cover letter to dogwalktalk@gmail.com

 
 
  • Contact: Beth Bakke, Owner
  • 919.697.6048
  • dogwalktalk@gmail.com
  • All content and photographs copyright dogwalk, 2015—2017